Uhuru - Biography

Uhuru Biography

Country : South Africa
Latest Music Video :

Uhuru Biography

Uhuru (Swahilifreedom) is a South African musical group best known for producing the hit single "Khona" performed by Mafikizolo. Signed to Kalawa Jazmee, the band consists of Themba Sekowe (Maphorisa), Nqobile Mahlanu (Mapiano), Sihle Dlalisisa (DJ Clap) and Xelimpilo Simelane (Xeli).


Prior to collaborating in 2012, Mapiano, Maphorisa and Xeli were friends who were into playing contemporary African jazz in Soshanguve where they originated from.[3] Uhuru was signed through DJ Clap who was already an artiste signed to Kalawa Jazmee Records. Maphorisa is the producer for Uhuru, while DJ Clap, Mapiano and Xeli are the DJ, pianist and vocalist respectively.


Uhuru shot into limelight in 2013 after the release of the chart-topping single titled "Y-tjukutja", which went on to be dubbed as the song of the year for 2013 in South Africa.The producers also featured in "Khona", a song which topped many music charts and won several awards in South Africa and beyond including the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards. In 2015, the collaborating artists undertook solo ambitions. By 2016, the Uhuru brand underwent serious challenges and incorporated a new face. Later in 2016, Uhuru released "Own Devices", "The Sound (Remix)" and "Free Prophecy, Vol 1." under new management, putting to rest rumored breakups. 

Uhuru News

Sorry, there's nothing to show here!
Like us on Facebook:

This Week's Most Popular